Terms of Reference


The A47 is a trunk road running across northern East Anglia from the A1 at Peterborough to Lowestoft on the east coast. As a trunk road, investment decisions are made by government and the road managed and maintained by Highways England, on government’s behalf. The A47 Alliance was formed to bring together stakeholders to secure investment into the road, with its ultimate ambition being full dualling with grade-separated junctions. The Alliance is made up of a wide group of supporters including statutory bodies, businesses representatives and the general public. Activities of the Alliance are overseen by a steering group consisting of invited representatives.


To act as a special interest group to support the strategic case for improvements on the A47 corridor between Lowestoft and the A1. The ultimate objective of the Alliance is full dualling of the A47 with grade separation at its junctions.

The A47 Alliance shall support the transport authorities along the route, along with the New Anglia Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP) and all 3 Chambers of Commerce. It shall achieve its objective by:

  • Influencing and lobbying government to draw in investment to improvements along the corridor.
  • Co-ordinating support of local interests along the route, to assist in providing evidence or other help to support advocacy.
  • Forming strategic alliances along the A47 between the A1 and Lowestoft including LEPs, local authorities, communities and other advocacy groups on the route.


The A47 Alliance shall comprise elected representatives, local authorities, local enterprise partnerships, business interests, communities and others along the route and is wider than the Steering Group.

Steering Group Membership

The Steering Group Membership is subject to change in accordance with the terms of reference. The A47 Alliance Steering Group will be made up of invited representatives from the wider Alliance. Membership of the steering group as of February 2019:

  • Breckland District Council
  • Broadland District Council
  • Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority 
  • Cambridgeshire Chambers of Commerce
  • Cambridgeshire County Council
  • East Suffolk Council
  • Eastern Daily Press
  • Federation of Small Businesses
  • Fenland District Council
  • Great Yarmouth Borough Council
  • Borough Council of King’s Lynn and West Norfolk
  • MP's
  • New Anglia LEP
  • Norfolk Chamber of Commerce
  • Norfolk County Council
  • North Norfolk District Council
  • Norwich City Council
  • Peterborough City Council
  • RAC Foundation
  • Road Haulage Association 
  • South Holland District Council
  • South Norfolk District Council
  • Suffolk Chamber of Commerce
  • Suffolk County Council

Operation of the Steering Group

The Steering Group will invite representatives from other bodies and organisations to be members of the Steering Group as appropriate to further the objectives of the Alliance. The Steering Group intends to invite the Peterborough/Cambridgeshire Combined Authority when it is established.

The Steering Group will operate on the following basis:

  • Each local authority member on the Steering Group will be an elected Councillor nominated through the council’s committee, or other, process. One elected member from each district and unitary authority will be eligible to vote. County councils will be eligible to vote in the following ratios: two elected members from each of Suffolk and Cambridgeshire County Councils and five elected members from Norfolk County Council.

  • Officers will not receive a vote.
  • Other organisations will also have one elected representative on the Steering Group which will be decided by their respective organisation and that representative will have one vote. 
  • MPs and MEPs will also have one elected representative on the Steering Group and that representative will have one vote. 
  • If an elected member is not available the local authority or organisation can send a substitute but must notify the Secretariat or the Chairperson in advance of the meeting. Alternatively the member can send their vote in advance to the Secretariat or the Chairperson.
  • Other representatives from the above local authorities and organisations are welcome to attend the meetings but only the elected representative(s) will have a vote.
  • New local authorities and organisations who would like to attend and have a vote would have to receive agreement from the Chairperson and then the Steering Group. Any new member organisation will be subject to the same requirements as set out in these terms of reference.
  • Highways England, as a government agent for the trunk road, shall be invited to attend meetings of the Steering Group.
  • The Broads Authority are also invited to attend the Steering Group meetings.
  • The public would be able to attend if they had prior agreement from the Chairperson.
  • The Steering Group will publish agendas and minutes on the website and will endeavour to publish regular press releases relating to the business of the Steering Group.


  • The Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Alliance shall be elected by the Steering Group.

  • In the event that the Alliance cannot reach consensus on an issue the Chairperson shall be responsible for deciding on the course of action.

  • There will be at least an annual election of Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson; normally to be agreed at the first meeting of the calendar year.


Secretariat support will be provided by Norfolk County Council.

Frequency of Meetings

  • The A47 Alliance Steering Group will normally meet quarterly.

  • The wider A47 Alliance shall not normally meet.